h1

DriDri

September 10, 2011


I know it’s almost autumn, but there’s no reason to avoid ice-creams! I’m a proponent of “ice-cream day is everyday” and that’s how I ended up eating at least one ice-cream per day last summer – a little daily pleasure of which you get used to very VERY quickly.

I’ve got my local, and a few other good places in areas where I like to stroll. But this summer, a new place opened in London: DriDri! This brand new gelateria is worth the trip believe me 🙂

What’s different?

Well first, let’s talk about the essential: the taste.
The DriDri taste is very different than any other ice-cream I ever tested in London. It is fresh, it is light (not as sweet as usual), it feels natural.

Among the classic flavours I tried, there is for instance Nocciola (hazelnut), Biscotto (cookies and cream), and Bacio (chocolate and hazelnut). The Nocciola surprised me as it was very tasteful, for once I could really feel the taste of the hazelnut, without any other intrusive flavour. I also took a spoon of Crema DriDri, their signature flavour based on the traditional Italian Crema with the addition of caramelized sesame. It was ok but I’ve never been a huge fan of crema. The addition of caramelized sesame makes it better though.

Among the unusual flavours, you can find cherry, liquirizia (pure licorice from Calabria) and extra noir chocolate sorbet.
I only tried the latter and… it’s absolutely astonishing! You have to try this chocolate sorbet! It has everything of the chocolate ice-cream but more refined, lighter, better. It’s the first time I can see the chocolate flavour as a sorbet, and I want to thank DriDri for that brilliant initiative!

Ice-creams are made in store everyday.
Also they are using organic fresh milk from the finest farms selected across England, and fresh season fruits from a selection of European countries such as France, Italy, Spain. They mention on their website that their ice-creams are very low in fat and they don’t use any artificial flavourings, colourings, emulsifiers preservatives or non-natural thickeners. That may explain this light and natural taste that is quite unusual.

Flavours of the season: biscotto, crema DriDri, lampone (raspberry), fragola (strawberry).

> Verdict: Try it and enjoy this new frozen experience! You won’t be disappointed. At the moment, there are only 3 shops in London. I’ve been to the Notting Hill one, located along Portobello Road. This might be part of your next Saturday trip to the market 🙂 (be careful, obviously that small shop is overcrowded that day… prefer another day in the week). Nothing to mention about prices, they’re comparable to any other ice-cream shop.

Infos: DriDri – 189 Portobello Road, London, W11 2ED – 020 3490 5027 – Notting Hill Gate station

Dri Dri Gelato on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. […] after DriDri – that was already a GREAT surprise, and different than my local (Scoop) – I went to […]



Leave a Reply

